Gold Rush

I would go to look for gold for two months.  Then I would go home.  As I went home, I saw the bushes move, and out jumped a bear!  I ran.  It picked me up, and off we went in search of gold.

In my first day, I got five grams.  My next day I got two grams.  The next day, my friends and I went turkey hunting.  We got three turkeys and gave one to a group of meant, another to another group of men, and we shared the third.  The next day was unsuccessful.

After my two months were over, I went home with my bear friend to share the surprises with my family.

There were three common ways to get to California in those days.  A lot of us traveled by land, and some by water.  People selling things made more money than those of us searching for gold did usually.  The women were not really allowed to do the dirty work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *